Saint Antonin Noble Val Owners Club

"We work on your holiday"

A guide to the local area, region and festivals with things to do and places to visit.


Capital of the Tarn department and home to the magnificent Cathedrale de Ste-Cecile, which was built after the crusade in 1265. Toulouse Lautrec was born here and the Musee Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec holds the most complete permanent collection of his works. Market Day is Saturday


In the contrasting landscapes of the Aveyron, medieval villages cling to cliffs and nestle in valleys steeped in legend. Explore caves, trout-filled brooks, or miles of shaded lanes meandering through the friendly villages of the Causse de Quercy.

Sports enthusiasts can canoe, cycle, ride, climb, pothole, or hang-glide, while art and history enthusiasts can explore the oldest town hall in France in Saint Antonin Noble Val, the castle setting for director Robert Enrico's film, "Le Vieux Fusil".


Bordering the former provinces of Quercy and Albigeois, Bruniquel overlooks the confluence of the Aveyron and Vère rivers.Well-preserved 13th, 14th, and 16th century houses cascade along the southern slope of a cliff, 80 meters (262 feet) above the water.

Classified as an historic monument in 1840, the Château de Bruniquel (12th, 13th, and 17th century) was constructed above a Roman castrum atop the cliff. Belonging first to the Counts of Toulouse, the castle was divided between two branches of the Comminges family two centuries later. This dual ownership explains the distinction made today between the Château Jeune (Young Castle) and the Château Vieux (Old Castle).


Capital of the Department of the Lot, the town is 2000 years old and is encircled by the River Lot.

The Cathedrale de St Etienne dates back to the 12th century. The Pont Valentre, a fortified bridge with three towers and seven arches is one of the most photographed monuments in France. Famous for truffles and wine.

Market Days Wednesday & Saturday am - Place de la Cathedrale Indoor market - everyday except Sunday


Sitting above the river Cerou, it rightly deserves its full name of Cordes sur Ciel. This beautiful medieval bastide town with incredible steep cobbled streets is one not to be missed.

Market Day Saturday am


Moissac located on the banks of the Tarn, was a popular stopping place on the pilgrim's route to Santiago de Compostela. Founded in the 7th century, partly destroyed by the Moorish invasion, restored at the time of Charlemagne, and, again, destroyed by the Normans.

The St.-Pierre Abbey Church reached its architectural zenith in association with the mother house of Cluny in 1047-1048. Today, it consists of a bell tower, with porch and doorway, and a unique nave, with Romanesque stone below and Gothic brick above. Its carved tympanum and cloisters, with 116 pillars, make Moissac a mecca of Romanesque Art.

The cloisters are the oldest and biggest (31metres x 7metres, 87 feet x 76 feet) in France, and, because of their symmetry and richness in carving, considered to be the most beautiful. The portal, depicting "Christ in His Glory" surrounded by symbols of the four Apostles, is a masterpiece of Christian Sacred Art that greatly influenced the development of Romanesque and Gothic Art.

The town itself changed dramatically after the 1930 flood when over 600 buildings were destroyed.

Market Days Saturday & Sunday am - farmers market


The Count of Toulouse built Montauban the capital of the Tarn & Garonne Department, a bastide town on the banks of the Tarn, in 1144. Extremely well preserved, the town offers pedestrians a visual history of French architectural styles set amid a living vibrant community:

Eglise Saint-Jacques with Toulousian styled steeple (mid-13th Century)

Pont Vieux bridge spanning seven pointed arches (14th Century), at the eastern end of the bridge you will find the Bishop's Palace (17th Century) that houses the prestigious Ingrés Museum and exhibits the works of Ingrés, Bourdelle and Desnoyers.

Place Nationale the brick market square with double vaulted galleries (17-18th Centuries).

Cathedrale Notre-Dame (late 17th-early 18th centuries) built on the orders of Louis XIV, is in stark contrast to the rest of the towns red brick construction.

Market Days Wednesday/Saturday am - Marche au gras, Place Nationale Saturday am - farmers & flea Marche - Place Prax-Paris


Set among orchards in the foot hills of the Quercy, the fortified village of Montpezat-de-Quercy retain sits medieval character. Renaissance houses, half-timbered houses, and medieval cob-walled houses complement the town's covered market place.

The Eglise Saint-Martin (1337), in the Languedoc style, features side chapels separated by the interior buttresses of a single nave. The church also houses superb Flemish tapestries from the late 16th century, the marble statue, Virgin with Doves, from the 14th century, and several English alabasters.

The Faillal Leisure Park, a residential and entertainment centre, is situated just outside the town.


This town's spectacular position earned it the title "Nobilis Vallis," or Noble Valley. Beneath the towering white cliffs of Anglars Rock, Saint Antonin lies between the Aveyron and Bonnette Rivers.

The townhall, built in 1125, is the oldest in France; now a museum, it displays a remarkable collection of local prehistoric artifacts. Periods of war and prosperity have left their mark on the village making it a living museum of medieval civil architecture unique in France.

It is the setting for two films Charlotte Gray and The Hundred Foot Journey


Market Day is Sunday am


The village of Saint-Cirq Lapopie is perched on a cliff 100 m (330 ft) above the river and is one of the major beauty spots of the Lot valley and about a 45 minute drive from Saint Antonin Noble Val

In the Middle Ages, Saint-Cirq Lapopie was the main town of one of the four viscountcies that made up Quercy. It was divided between four feudal dynasties, the Lapopies, Gourdons, Cardaillacs and Castelnaus. The village was dominated by a fortress made up of a number of castles and towers.

Below the fortress, the village streets lead down to fortified gates. Many historic houses have stone or half-timbered fronts going back to the 13th-16th centuries. The houses are narrow and have steep tiled roofs. The gabled houses fronting on the street are separated by a narrow space called an entremi, which carried away rainwater and waste from sinks and latrines.

Beneath the Saint-Cirq Lapopie cliff there are watermills, weirs, harbours, locks and towpath to recall the days when river transport was the glory of the Lot Valley.


Known as the "Pink City" (La Ville Rose) Toulouse is the fourth largest city in France, after Paris, Marseille and Lyon. It has become a center of aviation and spaceflight in the past 20 years. More than 35,000 of the local population work in the civil aviation or space industries.

The city, on the Garonne river, is on the site of an ancient Roman settlement; even today many of the smaller streets follow their Roman counterparts and many of the red brick (pink) buildings are of a pseudo-Roman style. It is these buildings that gives Toulouse its nickname "La Ville Rose".

In the middle ages, Toulouse was one of the richest cities in France due to the sale of blue coloring (xxxxxx) extracted from woad plants. The cosmopolitan atmoshpere is wondreful with numerous shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. If you are lucky enough to come in the season watch one of Europe's best rugby teams, Stade Toulousain play at Stade Ernest-Wallon it is a fantastic atmoshphere and I guarentee exciting rugby.

The "Space City" (Cité de l'espace) is one of Toulouse's top "aviation" attractions. It is a scientific theme park with replicas of spacecraft and interactive exhibits, alongside a small planetarium. (Great for children aged 5 to 15)

If you are looking for a property to rent,or someone to manage an existing one, in or around Saint Antonin Noble Val in the Tarn et Garonne (82) region , why not talk to us...Call or email Richard or Elaine Woollam......We can help you.

Saint Antonin Noble Val Owners Club

Tel:              00 33 (0) 5 63 30 84 15
Mobile:        00 33 (0) 6 23 84 23 31

Siret No: 451 872 386 00011
Foun De Pio, Route de Saleth
Saint Antonin Noble Val 82140


Part of Midi Pyrenees Owners Club

Webmaster: Richard Woollam